National ice
hockey league

The National Ice Hockey League (NIHL) encompasses England Ice Hockey’s senior leagues. It is currently the second tier of British ice hockey, below the Elite Ice Hockey League. Formerly called the English National Ice Hockey League (ENIHL), it was renamed in 2012 to recognise the inclusion of several teams from Scotland and Wales. The season runs from September to April each year.

The Planet Ice National League is the top tier of England Ice Hockey’s NIHL leagues and sees 11 teams compete to be crowned Champions at the National Finals weekend in April.

Below the Planet Ice National League, the leagues are split into two regions, North and South. Each region has two divisions.

Teams within each league also take part in a cup competition made up from existing league fixtures, with the cup final in each league being held in February.

Fixtures & REsults



2024/25 fixtures announced for regional NIHL divisions

Find out more

Fixture release date and cup groups confirmed for regional NIHL divisions

Find out more

All systems go for season 2024/25 in regional NIHL divisions

Find out more