Great Britain Para Ice Hockey name team for World Championships

Great Britain Para Ice Hockey have named their team for the upcoming World Para Ice Hockey Championships B-Pool, which will be held in Skien, Norway in April.

The tournament runs from April 15-20 April. Great Britain will go up against Norway and Germany, who were relegated from the A-Pool last year, as well as Sweden, Kazakhstan, and France in the six-team tournament.

Great Britain faced Sweden and Kazakhstan in last year’s B-Pool in Astana and last faced France in 2022 in the C-Pool tournament in Bangkok, where an unbeaten Great Britain claimed the gold medal.

GB Head Coach Peggy Assinck has named an 18-player squad, with John Mellor, Josh Davies, Damien Barker and Shannon Coach all making their World Championship debuts.

Upon naming her squad, Assinck said: “I am looking forward to working with this skilled group of athletes this year as we prepare for the Pool B world championship.

“We have a nice mixture of four rookies making their GB team debut and several experienced veterans to round out the team.

“We’ve been working hard since last October’s tournament in Astana, and I’m looking forward to leading the team in Skien in April as we look to cement our B-Pool Team status.”

GB Para Ice Hockey Squad


  • Bryan Hackworth – Sheffield Steelkings
  • Jodi Hill – Cardiff Huskies


  • Damien Barker – Sheffield Steelkings
  • Shannon Couch – Cardiff Huskies
  • Mark Colquitt – Manchester Mayhem
  • Jonathon Le Galloudec – Cardiff Huskies
  • Paul Brown – Sheffield Steelkings
  • Felicity Gregory – Manchester Mayhem
  • Gary Farmer – Peterborough Phantoms


  • Callum Shakespeare – Peterborough Phantoms
  • Tyler Christopher – Cardiff Huskies
  • Karl Nicholson – Manchester Mayhem
  • Dani Czernuszka-Watts – Cardiff Huskies
  • Dean Lahan – Manchester Mayhem
  • Stacey Quirk – Peterborough Phantoms
  • John Mellor – Cape Breton Sledgehammers
  • Josh Davies – Cardiff Huskies
  • Ben O’Brien – Sheffield Steelkings


  • Netminder: Susi Rogers-Hartley (Peterborough Phantoms)
  • Defence: Leanne Emmerson (Cardiff Huskies), Jade Williams (Sheffield Steelkings), Gaz Lawton (Sheffield Steelkings)
  • Forwards: Dan May (Cardiff Huskies), Emily McLean (GB Women)


  • Peggy Assinck – head coach
  • Patrick Assinck – assistant coach
  • Breanna Wagner – assistant coach / equipment
  • Lauren Bolger – sports therapist
  • Shirley Packwood – team manager / medic

To send us your latest club news, please click here

About the Author: jdgmedia_user_oih3n4kr